Mayo man scoops Young Farmer of the Year title

This year’s winner of this year’s Macra na Feirme/FBD Young Farmer of the Year has been named as Kevin Moran, a young Dairy farmer from Co.Mayo.

He has won the prestigious title following a challenging interview process and on-farm visit.

Originally from Clarmorriss in Co. Mayo, Moran currently farms in Cahirlestrane near Tuam in Co. Galway.

Kevin runs a 220 cow dairy enterprise. It comprises of 79 hectares, 65 of which is the milking platform with 14 hectares of an outside block. Over 71 hectares of the holding is a longterm lease while 8 hectares adjoining the platform is being purchased.

Heifers are contract reared and all machinery work is contracted out. The system is 100{b28040870e2dde01f25bc5b483275391226143b34751c4bb8f1feeecaec925a1} spring calving.

He is very involved with my local GAA club, Caherlistrane. He helps out with club fundraising as well as training under age players. He is also a member of 3 discussion groups, The West Awake discussion group, The Blackwater discussion group and European Dairy Farmers. Moran is also a 2015 Nuffield Scholar.

Judging panel chairman, Michael Hoey, Managing Director of Country Crest, announced the winner at an awards ceremony in the Boyne Valley Hotel and Country Club yesterday.

Kevin has won a travel bursary worth €3,000.

The competition is organised by Macra na Feirme in partnership with the IFA and sponsors, FBD.

There was also sector prizes for dairy, beef, sheep and tillage/other. The winners were Michael Kenny from Co.Offaly (Beef), Mattie John Kelly from Roscommon (Sheep), Kevin Moran from Mayo (Dairy) picks up that award too and Stephen Robb from Donegal (Tillage/Other).

Thomas Duffy from Cavan and Brian Keegan from Co.Kildare were awarded adjudicator prizes.

Macra National President, Seán Finan, said, “This is one of the most prestigious nights on the farming calendar where industry and farmers come together to recognise and award the brightest and best young farmers in the country, well done to everyone who took part and congratulations to the category winners and to Kevin Moran from Mayo the 18th FBD Young Farmer of the Year”.

The aim of the competition is to recognise and reward the top young farmers in the country. Entrants are judged according to a number of criteria including farm business initiative and innovation, levels of farm efficiency and enterprise quality, farm safety and environmental protection awareness, as well as agricultural knowledge and community involvement.

Full Article from Agriland

The author:

Leave a Reply